mastheadWater bird in the pond

Chapter News

Chapter Newsletters

Newsletter Editor: 

Robert Hopkins

2018 Newsletters

July 2018
April 2018

2017 Newsletters

January 2018
October 2017
July 2017  
April 2017

2016 Newsletters

July 2016
March 2016

2015 Newsletters


2014 Newsletters

December 2014
April 2014
January 2014

2013 Newsletter

September 2013

2012 Newsletters

September 2012
Spring 2012

2011 Newsletters

May 2011
Spring 2011

2010 Newsletters

September 2010
June 2010

Other Chapter News

Darrell P Schultz Honored with Judge John Tobin Award for 2018

At the ay membership meeting on May 2, 2019, Mr. Darrell P Schultz was awarded the Judg John Tobin award as outstanding Chapter member for 2018.  Here is Mr. Schultz shown with VP Barbara Pritchett who read the award citation and made the formal presentation.

2018 Judge John Tobin Awardee Darrell Schultz.

Chapter Wins Two Awards

At the recently concluded National Convention the Fred-Rapp Chapter  was awarde two National level awards.  The first award received is the Defenders Award which is awarded to any chapter that meets criteria in 5 out of 6 categories: membership, financial contributions, education, conservation, youth involvement, and communications.  These categrories showcase the depth of the conservation commitment across the Izaak Walton League.   Here Herbert Pritchett, hold our Defenders Award Plaque.

2017 IWLA Defenders Award

The second award was for the Nation-wide best Website based on appearance, originality and news coverage  Here Jim Lloyd and Herbert hold the Best Website Plaque.

Website Award Presentation.

Presented here is a compendium of all awards presented at the 2018 National Convention.

Shotgun Range Pavilion Dedicated
On Tuesday, June 19, 2018, the range 4 (Shotgun range) pavilion was dedicated to the four members most responsible for the activation of the shotgun sport range. The four were honored with a plaque on the recently constructed pavilion shelter.  The four people pictured below were present for the dedication and, immediately after the dedication ceremony, engaged in the sport of trap shooting.

Four Musketeers

From left to right: Mark, the son of the late Doug Crane, Ernie Meier, Fred Marshall, and John Undari

Fred-Rapp Chapter Chapter ties for 2nd place with Arlington/Fairfax Chapter for 2017 Efficiency Award

Herbert Pritchett, President of the Fred-Rapp Chapter receives award at the Virginia Division Meeting at the Chesapeake Chapter on Saturday, October 21, 2017         Efficiency Award

At the November meeting the award citation was read to the assembly and the plaque was dispalyed proudly.

Presentation at Membership Meeting

Member, James Lloyd, Presented Judge Tobin Award for 2016 

At the May 2017 membership meeting Jim Lloyd was awarded the annual Judge John W. Tobin award for his contributions to the Chapter.  Lloyd Receives Tobin Award

Chapter Again Hosts Fredericksburg Flag Retirement Ceremony
The Fredericksburg-Rappahannock Chapter of the Izaak Walton League of America hosted the Fredericksburg Flag Retirement ceremony at the Chapter Grounds on Saturday June 10, 2017. View a Windows Media file slide show of the 2015 event here.  Be advised that the file is nearly 40 Meg in size and might take a few seconds/minutes to open after clicking and saving to your computer drive.

Chapter Supports the 2017 Mott's Run Reservoir Kid's Fishing Derby
Volunteers from the Fredericksburg-Rappahannock Izaak Walton League Chapter provided the food for several hundred entrants and parents at the annual Mott's Run Reservoir Kid's Fishing Derby on Saturday, June 3, 2017.